Patty Thayer News, Uncategorized

The Annual Volunteer Awards

We held our favorite event of the year at the theatre last Sunday!

Rosh Wright, Stephen Horne, Ralph and Joy Hanson enjoy a little barbecue before the awards.

Why is it our favorite? Because it gives us the chance to gather everyone together in one room, look back on the past year, and celebrate exactly what we, together, have accomplished. Most importantly, it gives us a chance to thank our amazing volunteers — for everything that you do to make this theatre work, onstage, backstage, in the front-of-house, and on a governance level.

This organization absolutely could not exist without its volunteers.

Pictured around the table are Mike Mesker, Kevin Casey, Billy Breed, Dori Duke, Kata Linfield, Dave Linfield. On the wall in the back are Jay Raftery and Kaza Karen Kahn.

We are building our future as SLO REP, but we continue to honor our incredible history as San Luis Obispo Little Theatre. This organization is built on the achievements of our past, and we are so very grateful to all of the generous volunteers who helped this organization grow and thrive for 70 years. It is not only appropriate, but essential, to honor the pioneers of this organization who brought us to this point, as well as to celebrate the generous volunteers who continue to make it all possible.

Kevin Harris introduces the Volunteer Awards

So, we threw a party! And in addition to enjoying a delicious barbecue dinner and the delightful company of good friends, we presented our Annual Volunteer Awards.  Named for Little Theatre pioneers, we are proud to present our wonderful winners for the 2017-2018 Season.

The Jim Chernoff Award

Ryan Loyd

Lacey McNamara presents the Jessie Ray Spotlight Award to the Stuermers.

The Jessie Ray Spotlight Award

Thomas & Linda Stuermer

The President’s Award

Marcia Scott

The Joy & Ralph Hanson Award

Ann Robinson

The John Grostick Rising Star Award

Michael Simkins presents the President’s Award to Marcia Scott.

Ken Woodruff

The Claire Gates Lifetime Achievement Award

Ron Burkhart

Thank you ALL for sharing your time, talents and treasure with all of us.

You can find out more about the pioneers for whom these awards are named and see the entire history of our Volunteer Awards HERE.

Suzy Newman presents the John Grostick Rising Star Award to Ken Woodruff.

For more information about becoming one of our wonderful volunteers, you can click HERE!

Happy SOLD- OUT closing weekend to the cast and crew of Mary Poppins, JR!  If you haven’t seen this show yet, try our Wait List at the door. It’s worth it!